MRU Conservatory Presents New Orford String Quartet

Monday, May 9, 2022

7 p.m.

Bella Concert Hall

Buy Tickets
Four musicians with equally stellar pedigrees formed the New Orford String Quartet with the goal of developing a new model for a touring string quartet.  Their concept – to bring four elite orchestral leaders together on a regular basis over many years to perform chamber music at the highest level – has resulted in a quartet that maintains a remarkably fresh perspective while bringing a palpable sense of joy to each performance. The Toronto Star has described this outcome as “nothing short of electrifying.”

Jessie Montgomery: Strum (7 min)
Samuel Barber:       Adagio for Strings Op. 11 (9min)
Carmen Braden:      The Raven Conspiracy (10 min)
Dvorak:                  String Quartet no. 12 in F major Op. 96 "American quartet" (25 min)